September 27, 2023


A breaking news heritage! a cast of heroes

Maran members re-elect Anya as president

Anya as he wants to cast his vote

In a keenly election, the oldest journalists association in the Maritime Industry,the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria, (Maran) has reelected Mr Anya Njoku for a second time in office
In an election that could be best described as war Mr Anya defeated a seasoned senior correspondent with Vanguard Newspapers, Mr Godfrey Bivbere by 22 votes to 17 votes.
In the election conducted by the Lagos State Executive of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) led by its Chairman, Mr Adeleye Ajayi who was a former president of the association, Mr David Oladimeji, a cool headed person defeated Mr Augustine Nwadinamuo by 26 votes to 11 votes 
For the post of Secretary General, Agu Obiagulu emerged victorious over the immediate Secretary, Mr Dapo Olawuni by 22 votes to 14 votes.
The following officers were elected un opposed, Oluyinka Onigbinde PRO, Ken Jukpor, Assistant Secretary, Chiazor Ogbolu as Treasurer and Joy Enamuna as Financial.
In his words, the Lagos State NUJ Chairman, Mr Adeleye Ajayi said the election was a ‘family’ affair and urged all Maran members to cooperate with the new executive members to move Maran forward.
Afolabi Oyekunle