September 29, 2023


A breaking news heritage! a cast of heroes

Maran shifts awards and anniversary date to 9th December.

By Afolabi Oyekunle.

Awards of Excellence as,

MARAN, foremost maritime Correspondents Association announced a new date of 9th December for her 34th Anniversary and Awards.

The Anniversary and Awards has the theme; “16 Years of Port Concession; The Pains and the Gains”

The event is now billed to hold at the prestigious Providence Hotel, GRA, Ikeja Lagos under the Chairmanship of Dr. Ade Dosunmu, a former Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA).

Time for the event and Gala is slated for 4pm Prompt.

Chairman Planning Committee of MARAN At 34 Anniversary, Mr Dapo Olawuni who announced the new date, stated that the Chief Guest of Honour, Honourable Minister of Transportation, Engineer Muazu Jaji Sambo has indicated his interest to personally attend the function and meet with the creme-de-la-creme of the maritime industry.

“I would not want to miss the event because Maritime sector is my first love, and MARAN is my immediate constituency” Olawuni quoted the Transportation Minister as saying.

The association announced that the minister would be bestowed with the prestigious “DIAMOND AWARD at the epoch making event.

The 34th anniversary and Awards 2022 of MARAN is expected to be attended by over 250 maritime industry professionals; cutting across the maritime agencies, terminal operators, security agencies, international and domestic companies operating in Nigeria.

Expected to also bag awards at the MARAN night of honour include; Chairman of SIFAX Group, Dr Taiwo Afolabi, Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) Dr Bashir Jamoh, Captain Emmanuel Iheanacho, Chairman of Genesis Worldwide Shipping, Princess Dr Vicky Haastrup, Chairperson, Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN)

Others are; Presidential flag bearer of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso, Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Colonel Hameed Ali, Chairman of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) Brigadier General Buba Marwa (Rtd) Founder of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) Dr Boniface Aniebonam, former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA) Prince Olayiwola Shittu as well as the Chairman of Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) Tsanni Abubakar.

Other notable stakeholders to bag the MARAN prestigious awards are; Customs Area Controller, Apapa Customs Command, Comptroller Yusuf Malanta, Chairman of Wealthy Honey Nigeria Limited, Dr Kayode Farinto, the Iyalaje Kano and Chairman of Bomarah Group, Hajia Bola Muse, President General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) Comrade Adewale Adeyanju, frontline Shipowner, Alhaji Aminu Umar.

Others are; Lagos State Waterways Authority (LASWA) Customs Area Controller, Onne Customs Command, Compt Auwal Mohammed, National Cordinator of 100% Compliance Team of NAGAFF, Alhaji Tanko Ibrahim, former Executive Director Finance and Administration of NPA, Mr Olumide Oduntan.

Companies and government agencies that are billed to clinch awards includes; Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) APM Terminals Apapa, Tolaram Group, proponents of the Lekki Deep Seaport, frontline logistics firm; Settle Systems Nigeria Limited, Grimaldi Shipping Nigeria Limited among others.

The lead paper for the event would be delivered by Barrister Hassan Bello, immediate past Executive Secretary of Nigerian Shippers Council while the Managing Director of NPA, Mohammed Bello-Koko, Mrs Jean Chiazor Anishere, Managing Director of Trucks Transit Park Limited (PTT) Jama Onwubuariri and Registrar of NAGAFF Academy, Mr Francis Omotosho would discuss the paper.

Apart from these, all the maritime agencies, including: NPA, NIMASA, National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA), Nigeria Shippers Council (NSC), terminal operators; including TICT Terminal, PTML Terminal, APM Terminals among others have all expressed their desire to be fully involved in the one-day MARAN anniversary and awards,

Minister of Transportation.

The committee stated that the conference with the theme: ‘16 Years of Port Concession: The Pains and The Gains’ would provide ample opportunity for notable maritime experts and professionals to speak on critical issues affecting the port since 2006.

The planning committee noted that the MARAN Awards come once in a decade and the last edition was held in December 2013.

One of the recipients.

MARAN is the foremost maritime media association which was formed in November 1988 and has since then remained the umbrella body of all journalists posted to cover or report the activities of the nation’s shipping and allied business.